1988 Bayliner Cobra 1800 restoration.

Status
Not open for further replies.

88BLiner

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello, I just wanted to introduce myself as a new iboater. I have been reading this forum now for about 6 months and have been trying to register but was not able to because of problems with AOL. But anyhow I am a newbie to restoring boats which is why I have been on this site so much but I have learned so much that I feel like I can tackle just about anything. If you can not tell by the name I have an 1988 Bayliner Cobra 1800 that I am going to restore because I think just about every inch of wood in it is rotten. I know, I know, a lot of you guys are probably going to ask why the hell I would waist my time with this certain boat. Well, for starters I got the boat for free. Secondly I absolutely love the way it looks. I have not really seen another boat with lines like this one. It looks like it is going 100 mph sitting still on the trailer. Well, to make a long story short I will be posting the whole rebuild here on iboats and I am sure that I will need some advice in the near future. I will be looking forward to talking to you all and hopefully meeting some new friends. God Bless and safe boating!:)

lowkee

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1988 Bayliner Cobra 1800 restoration.

First, welcome to iboats!

Second, be sure to post some 'before' pics, since we all love the comparison (and you never know when you are 99% finished a restore and wonder where that odd part USED to go..). Third, join the club! I have a 1990 Bayliner Capri I'm restoring for your very same reason, because I just fell in love. Sadly, my boat also needs a total wood overhaul.

You are amongst friends, here, and we'll help out as much as we can. I came here not knowing anything and am down to a bare hull at the moment. There is no fear with so many people to learn from and give advice. Good luck, and keep us posted!

bear_69cuda

Commander

Welcome 88BLiner !

Your in the right place!