Overpowering your boat.

petriw

Seaman Apprentice
I wasn't sure where to put this. If I am out of line someone please tell me. I have a 1989 15 1/2 foot, bow to propeller, FiberTech Glass boat with an 1989 80 horse Merc. triple on it. It is dangerously fast. I am sure it didn't start out with that size of motor. I am relatively new to boating, this is my second one, so I am a little dumb and quite cautious yet. Maybe I bit off more than I can chew.
It does seem heavy in the stern to me. Fully loaded with 4 adults the transom drains are taking a little water. Once underway that stops. It planes quite quickly and nicely but I get a lot of torque steer prior to that.

How much power is too much power? Am I too heavy? What can I do?

S.O.G.F.W.B.
slow old guy with fast boat.

EricR

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Overpowering your boat.

If it's an '89, she should have a factory rating plate somewhere.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Four people on a 15 footer is a fair load so it will make the little bugger squat. Look for the capacity plate which is generally located somewhere inside the boat -- usually on one side panel or the other. The maximum rated HP will be indicated on that plate.

petriw

Seaman Apprentice

It says 48 kilowatts. Whatever the hell that is.

bassboy1

Lieutenant Commander

To give you some perspective. My 15 foot deep vee is rated for 80 horse, and 6 people.

bassboy1

Lieutenant Commander

Wup, we posted simultaneously. Where does it say 48 kilowatts? That does not have anything to do with outboard ratings or weight ratings. I don't think that you are looking on the right plate.

studlymandingo

Commander

It is dangerously fast.

Fully loaded with 4 adults the transom drains are taking a little water. Once underway that stops. It planes quite quickly and nicely but I get a lot of torque steer prior to that.

Define "dangerously fast" I have yet to achieve this.