two battery hookup

DaverDog

Cadet
Yes im new to boating...what id like to do is have a two 12 volt battery hookup instead of running a 24 volt.do they have a cable setup that i can hook the two batterys up together? and if i can,can i run everything off them or should i not cable them together and run the motor off one and everything else(trolling motor,radio,lights etc)off the other. Or trolling motor off one battery and the motor and all else off the other?...thanx guys

drewpster

Commander
Re: two battery hookup

Just to clarify. Does your boat have a 24 volt electrical system? Or are the two batteries you mentioned used for the trolling motor only?

DaverDog

Cadet

yea sorry drewp i just got the boat and the previous owner has been running it on a 12 volt battery ...i havent gotten into the boat much yet to see whats really going on and what runs on what and from what..hope that helps ya a bit better and thanx

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

You need to determine for sure what you have and to be a little more clear before we can make any recommendations. Everything on a small boat runs on 12V with the exception of some trolling motors. Some of those run on 12V, some run on 24V and some run on either 12V OR 24V. I posted three diagrams in the link below. Go there to help determine what you have.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=204320

If your trolling motor runs on 12 OR 24V it will have a switch either on the motor or on a separate panel at the front of the boat. If it doesn't have this switch, you have either a 12V motor or its a 24V only motor. If its a 24V ONLY motor and you are using only one battery you are getting very poor performance and roughly half the power out of the motor.