When do you use your blower?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gkosel

Seaman
Obviously I am aware of the recommendation to let the blower run for 4+ minutes before starting a sterndrive motor.

When else do you use the blower?

1. Do you use it when you are trolling? ie slow as possible.

2. Strolling? I know this may not be an accurate term, but I am thinking of 5-10MPH.

3. 10+ MPH?

I am fairly new to sterndrives, as I have previously operated outboards and didn't worry about blowers.

Thanks for your feedback. I am guessing that there may be some varying answers to this and may depend on weather conditions, but am looking for the basics.​

freelunch

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: When do you use your blower?

Well your on the money with operating the blower before startup.
Also yes if you're traveling at slow speeds where the ventilation system is not getting enough air forced through to adequately circulate the engine compartment have it on then as well.

180shabah

Rear Admiral

Ditto-

Before starting, and any time you opperate below planing speed.

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

Yep, same here. And on the rare ocassion I get fuel on the water, I let it run the whole time I am fueling...

Boatin Bob

Lieutenant Commander

I let mine run all the time the engines are running no matter what speed.

bjcsc....any marina will post signs indicating all electrical to be shut off during refuelling including the blower. While the blower is blowing out one side of the boat it can be drawing fumes in through the other side....not good

180shabah

Rear Admiral

Like Bob said:

OFF while fueling

ON after fueling, wait, sniff, start...

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

I let mine run all the time the engines are running no matter what speed.

bjcsc....any marina will post signs indicating all electrical to be shut off during refuelling including the blower. While the blower is blowing out one side of the boat it can be drawing fumes in through the other side....not good