Turbo 1 vs. Turbo Lightning

stevens

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Turbo 1 vs. Turbo Lightning

Just as a start, what is that prop you have on there in the picture? And what would you want to achieve by changing it?<br /><br />I am by no means an expert at this (but do ask Dhadley or Walleyehed on this forum). However, I've seen boats exactly like yours fly by and they seem to plane well and rise out of the water nicely at speed. Nice V-hull that seems to handle the waves well.<br /><br />Now, I am guessing here, but I would think either prop would probably work well, with the Lightning giving you slightly more top-end speed, and the Turbo 1 giving better low-end and mid-range performance. And, if you like to pile in the wife & kids, all their stuff and your mother-in-law as well, my guess is the Turbo 1 will handle the load better.<br /><br />But again, I am merely guessing here. The real experts will probably come along shortly.<br /><br />Are you sure about the 21" pitch? Might be wise to try some out before your buy, starting with the same pitch that it came with from the factory.<br /><br />On my boat (an Ibiza, similar to yours but with a Mercury inboard), I ended up going from the 23" standard Black Max alu prop to a 22" four-blade Turbo. The 23" Turbo 1 was too much, and all the 21"s I tried were too little. A 23" Stiletto would probably also be OK, but it took a lot of experimentation to find the exactly right one.

realmasa

Petty Officer 2nd Class