what does everyone do for a living?

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
That's awesome, Bruce!
After going through what I just did with my dad, I am realizing more and more how short life is. Going to start with going to a 32 hour work week and phase out from there. Sounds like my company is fine with that.

garbageguy

Lieutenant Commander
To answer what I think is the Op's question, I'm a Civil/Environmental engineer in the waste industry. In my early 50's, but by the way the Admiral and the kids burn through $, I can't imagine ever being able to retire. That's alright, I enjoy my work and the people I work for and with.

But that is certainly not all I "do for a living". I am busy with some project or activity early til late every day. Within the last 5 years, I've had a few events from which I learned to make the most of every day - this ain't no trial run, this is it!

bonz_d

Vice Admiral
After going through what I just did with my dad, I am realizing more and more how short life is. Going to start with going to a 32 hour work week and phase out from there. Sounds like my company is fine with that.

Bruce I think you are seeing that there is much more to a successful retirement than just finances. Health has a major bearing too. At 62 and diminishing health this is not what I'd hoped for. With 5 employer changes, 2 of those closed, and the health issues with more hospital stays than I can recall in the past 10 years almost all savings have been used.

I envy those who are able to maintain their health and wealth and pray for those in my boat. So congrats my friend and know you are blessed. Enjoy life as much as possible.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
I envy those who are able to maintain their health and wealth and pray for those in my boat. So congrats my friend and know you are blessed. Enjoy life as much as possible.
Yep...hopefully I stay healthy. I always try to stay in shape. Doing a 100 mile organized road bike ride this weekend.