1965 Starcraft Nassau Refurb / Restore

gberl001

Seaman Apprentice
Request for semi-professional opinion on the state of my transom

I just bought my second boat, a 1965 Starcraft (Jupiter or Nassau I believe due to the 16' x 69" length and beam). Anyway, I felt it was probably a good idea to replace the transom, didn't look bad but I would like to do some tube pulling so I want to know for sure that it's in great shape.

After pulling apart the splashwell I noticed a few things, the center knee brace has a tear, not too bad so I think I'll just lay a bent strip of aluminum over it. Then I noticed an ever so slight buckle in the starboard and center knee braces and I'm wondering...
  • What kind of support do they still offer? It doesn't look all that bad to me but I'm not a mechanical physics guy either so I'm wondering how much rigidity is left given the slight buckle.
  • Is this something I should be overly concerned with?
  • Is there a way to fix or reinforce them?
A view of all three, you can see the buckle on the center and starboard brace and a tear on the center brace seam
18564138814_6d0be33cce_z.jpg

Port side (the good side)
18998964660_7105ffdd66_z.jpg

Center
19186642355_9ed17c854e_z.jpg

Starboard side
19190217821_d9f4a868c7_z.jpg

Last edited:

gberl001

Seaman Apprentice
A "semi-professional opinion"

Boy, that is rich!

Well, didn't really know how to word it, I don't want some random person coming in and saying that it's all good if they really don't know what their talking about. For instance, I think it would probably be fine but I'm not well versed in the mechanics of metal strength so I'm just looking for someone who knows metal and knows this stuff from experience, not their best guess.

It was meant to be a jokingly, ha ha, grab your attention title but I'm guessing by your response it didn't come off that way, sorry about that.

jbcurt00

Staff member
Dont discount the value of a completely Non-professiinal opinion. :watermelon: