My towing disaster (pictures)

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
AS I said, You can analyze it to death, but sometimes there simply is nothing you can do: Last winter I shortened my S10 on a hill with black ice. As soon as I topped the hill I saw four cars off the road with an overturned truck at the bottom. Just for the hell of it I tapped the brakes and there was nothing: So, I knew I was just along for the ride. I rode it out about 500 feet, accelerating all the way and by some miracle had just enough steering to avoid the overturned truck in the road. I hit an ice bank and wiped out the front end just as surely as if I had hit a tree.

I had been talking for about three years about buying a bigger truck to tow my cuddy. I regarded this as simply karma and the impetus to buy a 1500.

BTW: I did have my belts on. I am a firm believer in their use.

Last edited:

smoedog

Petty Officer 1st Class
The roads look dry but how were they when it happened. I can attest to how horrible the roads here in arkansas are when wet. I'm pretty sure they this some pea gravel in with bearing grease and pave away. It can be impossible to pull away from a stop sign without wheelspin

White90GT

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I haven't read the entire thread, so I don't know if it was asked or suggested, but when going down that steep hill, were you only using the brakes to control your speed? If I'm in a hill infested area and see a long steep downward slope coming, I always slow down at the top and downshift to the lowest gear I can to maintain the speed I want, then use brakes on top of that if needed. Sometimes I do this even when not pulling a boat. Brakes aren't made to ride constantly, they will overheat and fail.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner