Replacement engine has Vortec heads -- need to rejet Holley for increased airflow?

whitney

Seaman
I've been searching for info on this but haven't found anything... I have a 92 Sunbird, OMC 4.3 non-HO with stock 2bbl 500CFM Holley carb. Previous owner had the motor replaced with a 96 rebuilt longblock with Vortec heads.

What if anything needs to be done to rejet the carb (and/or powervalve) for the higher airflow?

I'm still working on getting the boat running well but I have noticed the plugs are pretty white. Carb has been rebuilt to the exact '92 specs -- #70 jets and 2.5 power valve.

(I'm not a carb expert but my initial reaction is, no, it doesn't need to be rejetted. More air flow should just pull more fuel. Right?)

Thanks!

Edit - it's a 500CFM carb, not 600CFM... 80312

chaparall villain 2

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Replacement engine has Vortec heads -- need to rejet Holley for increased airflow

first is it the original carb from the boat.... most marine carbs are jetted richer than car carbs because of the load but if the plugs are white i would say shes runnin a little lean i would go up about 4 to 74s on the jets and try it ... go out and run it for a day and see what the plugs look like .. they shouldnt be wet or black but more tan color ... if you run it too lean it will do damage to motor better a little rich than a little lean ... i am running vortec heads on mine but its a 383 with a 750 holley so a little different but i had to play with the jets for a while to get it right ... most jets are cheap enough

John_S

Rear Admiral
Re: Replacement engine has Vortec heads -- need to rejet Holley for increased airflow

See if volvo used the same carb on their 4.3L vortec, and see if their tuning was different. You also have to carefully check all critical part numbers with in carb. I am not familiar with Holleys anymore, but would assume some tuning would be needed.

chaparall villain 2

Petty Officer 2nd Class