Unplug before you dunk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

109jb

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Unplug before you dunk?

You guys can do what you want, but I have been backing trailers into the water for 30 years now and have never unplugged the lights and have never blow a single fuse or bulb from putting one in the water. Sure I have blown fuses and bulbs, but not from putting one in the water. I also do check my lights every time I pull out. It is habit for me to pull out, put the flashers and parking lights on and then check the lights while prepping the boat for travel. Same thing after I hook up at home and before getting on the road. To add to this debate, I am not fanatic about LED's either. My father has a utility trailer with LED tail lights and one unit has about 1/3 of the LED's that don't light. It still functions but obviously it isn't going to last forever. It will also cost him $30 to replace it. My standard lights on my boat trailer cost about $2 to replace a bulb and I have never had a problem with them.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

EDIT: jb, you posted while I was typing.... this wasn't pointed at you or ANY one in particular, just an FYI for all