98 Evinrude 50hp off idle miss

EE

Cadet
Hello, I have a 98 Evinrude 50hp two cylinder. I have many years of automotive experience but have not worked on many two stroke outboards. Ever since I bought the boat it has always idled a little rough. Now it has an off idle shake. When it does shake it smokes more. Always starts up and has plenty of power and top end once you get pass the shake. The compression is 150 and 142psi, the carbs have been rebuilt and are very clean. I did the whole sync proscedure according to the manual. Tried adjusting the carb mixture but does not solve the problem. The idle timing in forward is 0 degree which is what the manual calls for. The thermostat is working correctly. The plugs are new and are properly gapped at .030. I use it in the summer and winter to fish so new fuel is being added on a regular basis. When I pulled the carbs off I looked at the reed valves and they appeared to be all closed and not broken. I dont know much about reed valves. Do they get weak after awhile? Not sure where to go from here. Great site and any help is greatly appreciated.

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral
Re: 98 Evinrude 50hp off idle miss

this got posted twice. How did that happen?:eek:

5150abf

Vice Admiral

Welcome to iboats.

When you rebuilt the carbs did you actually phsically clean all the jets?

There are 3 jets and unless you ran a wire through them your carbs are not clean and the problem will continue until you do this, also good to blow air through the passages between jets.

You can get a dental syringe from CVS and squirt a bit of gas into the cylinders when it is running, if it suddenly runs better you found your clogged carb.

I think you are running on one cylinder, it is really hard to pick up a miss on a 2 stroke.

EE

Cadet