How often do you need to check drive fluid level in Volvo SX Drive

Robertpel9

Petty Officer 1st Class
After seeing how my bearing cover that the dipstick is screwed into is stripped and having to fix that and seeing how many other people have had this too and seeing how my friends Mercury's have a resevoir in the engine compartment to see fluid level I am wondering why Volvo does not have this

Anyway my fluid level is fine after using it all summer and i plan on replacing it when i winterize but how often during the season should you check the level of oil in your drive - is there any advance worning that you are running low on fluid

I had an SX on my old boat as well and when i did a mid summer gimbal swap it was over 50% low on fluid

I dont want to risk my drive but also dont think its good to be unscrewing the sipstick before every outing - what is the reccomended interval??

user64

Seaman
Re: How often do you need to check drive fluid level in Volvo SX Drive

I have my drive pressure checked each year before mounting. So, if I dont see any "slicks"during the season or hear any strange noise I dont bother checking. Im sure that a lot of people will disagree and theyre probably right..but so far, thats worked for me. Its a 99 SX and everything is original (except prop shaft seal). Volvo's are pretty sturdy

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

I check mine everytime I go out. Basically, the night before I launch, I check:

1) the engine oil, drive oil.
2) start the engine
3) check temp
4) check oil pressure
5) look in the bilge for any water or oil leaking
6) check the temp of the manifolds by running my hands over them as the engine warms up.
7) check charging voltage

Robertpel9

Petty Officer 1st Class

What does Volvo recommend - I did a search and cannot locate it. Also the mercury system seems to make more sense why wouldn't volvo adopt this

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

Maybe Mercruiser has more problems with heat and fluid expansion than Volvo does.