My first boat restoration

Hello all, this is my first time doing this thread thing so bare with me if I screw it up. Currently I am working on two boats... I know I should only do one at a time but.... Any ways, the first boat that I have been working on for a while is the exact same boat as Singout, another member with an awesome thread on how he took a raggedy redneckified shallow tri hull and turned it into the cream of the crop fishing vessel. Like his the transom and floor were completely rotted out due to miscellaneous objects being screwed to the deck and holes being drilled into the transom for who knows what! I started with this boat by taking it off the trailer and restoring the trailer first. I then started by removing all of the hardware and sanded all the old paint off, right down to the fiberglass. Unlike Singout's project, I removed the top half of the boat using some ingenuity and good old fashion elbow grease... It also helped to drill out all the thousands of rivets?! I then removed the sections of the floor that were completely destroyed by water damage. I did this by using a dremall with a small cutting wheel and some old fashioned elbow grease. I continued to pull up all the old wood screws using a pry bar. "The screws were in no shape to even try and unscrew them.;) I then proceeded with the transom...:mad: what a pain in my keester! I tell you what... If you have anger issues, this is the way to relieve allot of tension. I did not cut out the whole transom. When I removed the top half of the boat it revealed the top half of the transom "which I could remove with my fingers:eek: the bottom half was not easy at all even though it was rotten as well. I used a cat?s paw and a flat pry bar and a framing hammer to remove the rest. That is about where I'm at now with that boat. If I can figure out how to upload pictures to this thread I'll do so. :confused:

Attachments

• 104_0991.jpg
    104_0991.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 0
  • 104_0992.jpg