Lower Susquehanna

HappierWet

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Lower Susquehanna

What's Lake Clarke like? Is it mostly deep? How far up or downstream can you run with about 3 feet of draft? What's the bottom?

Thanks for any info,
HW

john3931

Petty Officer 1st Class

Since I am new to boating I can't be much help, but it is mostly deep. I am sure there are low spots. Thank God I haven't found them. I usually run up river to the islands and down river to Safe Harbor dam.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

It's about 7 miles long of pretty much completely open, deep, navigable waters. Downriver there's a dam, and up river there are 3 large islands in a row that you shouldn't go past. On the Lancaster side it gets shallow towards the shore but they mark it with buoys. It's fairly idiot proof there. I like it.

HappierWet

That sounds pretty cool. I'll have to add it to my list of places to try. It looks like about the same distance for me as going down to the Chesapeake. Any particular ramp especially good ( or bad for that matter ) from the east side?

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Well that's the rub. There really aren't any on the east side I don't think. (Brandon correct me if I'm wrong). There are two decent public ramps on the west side.

Blue Crabber

Ensign

Well that's the rub. There really aren't any on the east side I don't think. (Brandon correct me if I'm wrong). There are two decent public ramps on the west side.

Yep, you are correct. No launches on the east side (Lancaster County). You have to put in on the west side (York County). There are several ramps and a couple of marinas on that side. Ramps are ok but not the greatest.

The others have described the lake well. About 7 miles long from the islands to the dam. Up to about 1 mile wide. Depth ranges from 5 feet to almost 40 down by the dam (Safe Harbor). We like to go there during the week buy try like crazy to avoid it on the weekends. It gets really busy.