VHF Radio no Tx?

dpslusser

Cadet
Hey guys, im kinda new to VHF radios, but have some CB experience. My buddy gave me a VHF radio for my new boat and an antenna. For some reason I can't Transmitt very well. Not even to a boat that is 100 feet a way. Recieveing, is GREAT. I was wondering, like CB, doe s vhf antenna have to be trimmed for SWR?

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: VHF Radio no Tx?

You should repost in Electronics vvvvvvvv

DRIFTER_016

Petty Officer 1st Class

No they don't need to be trimmed like CB antennas.
Try a different antenna as yours could be fubar.
If a new antenna doesn't fix the problem it's an issue with the radio.

dpslusser

Cadet

My grandfather (who was in the Navy and has been fishing for 20 years) is the one who put the antenna on the boat. He SWEARS that the antenna has NOTHING to do with it. Although I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY disagree. The antenna is the most important part of the entire radio rig. But... he is the type you can't tell him anything. After inspecting the antenna/cable/connector, the antenna actually has a crushed section about 2 inch's long. (I don't no how to upload picture to post). I even showed it to him. He says its STILL THE RADIO!!!! And the connector looks shoty.

Am I rite? Is the antenna the main most important part of the Radio rig? Its the same way in CB (for the most part). Without a GOOOOOOD antenna, your almost wasting your time.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

Try being further away than 100 ft and/or try transmitting at a lower power...often there is a 1W setting. You might be saturating the receiver of the other radio.

dpslusser

Cadet

Try being further away than 100 ft and/or try transmitting at a lower power...often there is a 1W setting. You might be saturating the receiver of the other radio.

I couldn't talk to anyone, even other guys far out on the lake. My Grandfather had his boat and we tried it that close (100ft)

Expidia

Commander