Johnson 1962 40HP (RK-24?) no spark at plugs

Hi. I am completely new to this, but recently bought an old boat with the above mentioned motor, and I have a factory service manual. The motor was very well maintained and used frequently by the previous owner. It started and ran perfectly both before and after I bought it. So I think my problem my be some kind of user error.

The first time I took the boat out, it started with a single turn of the key, idles and ran perfectly for 25 minutes. I had the throttle wide open for about 5 minutes when the engine suddenly died. It did not sputter or cough, it just shut down, and it has not started since.

I originally thought maybe it was bad fuel and fouled plugs.

Since then I have replaced the fuel, checked plugs (which were new), and verified compression. I have a new battery. I bought a spark detector, and as best I can tell there seems to be no spark between the magneto and the plugs. The points and condensers look new, and it seems strange that they would go bad for both cylinders at exactly the same time anyway.

I am at a bit of a loss, so any ideas would be appreciated. I have a feeling I maybe doing (or have done) somthing simple and stupid.

Thanks.

Mike

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Johnson 1962 40HP (RK-24?) no spark at plugs

So, I assume you have the flywheel off? And the key is not sheared? That sort of indicates there is a fault in the kill wires, the two black wires coming from the magneto and going to the ignition switch. Just disconnect one of them and see if you get spark back. (The key switch connects the two blacks together to stop the engine)

spy1309

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Michaetaylorms by any chance you have the manual in electrinic format? My engine is 1960 like yours identical and the closest manual I got is 1969.

I did have the flywheel off, and the key was not sheared. It tries to start, just doesn't get there. I will give this a try and let you know.