General Comparison of the Three Engine Types

gcais

Cadet
I'm going to buy a boat this fall and will use it 90% on large lakes to ski, fish, tour, pull, etc. It'll be between 18 and 23 feet, maybe new or maybe used. My question relates to engine style and make. I'm confused as to the "best" type of engine to use, assuming money isn't a problem. Best to me means efficiency, ease of maintenance, reliability, etc. I have no experience and no prejudices for or against one style or make over another. Are there any references that would make comparisons? David Pascoe makes gives an interesting comparison but he's only one and I'm wondering if there are others I could check. Thanks for your help. Gcais

enforcer30

Seaman Apprentice
Re: General Comparison of the Three Engine Types

They all have positives and negatives. What type of fishing are you planing to do? If you are going into shallower water a outboard is a bit easier to use it typically will not draft as deep. Inboards are typically used for a purpose built ski boat. I/O's are a good all around boat they draft deeper than a outboard but still can be trimmed up if need be. What climate are you in. If you are in a freeze zone i.e. MN WI Inboards and I/O's need more work than outboards to get them ready for winter. If I were buying a 20 plus foot boat I would probably go with a I/O. 18-19 ft. I would go with a outboard probably a 4 stroke for ease of maintainance.

Just my 2 cents. Barry

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Moving this to the Boat Topics and Questions (Not Engines) forum. This is a general opinion of all engines, so it shouldn't be in just the IO forum.

gcais

Cadet

Thanks for the input. I live in southern BC next to several large lakes, it does freeze in this area and I would be pulling the boat out of the water during the cold. Thanks for the reply. Gcais

gcais

Cadet