Engine swap issues?

C.Walker

Cadet
Hi, i'm new to this forum and i'm just getting into boating. I'm going to be getting a 19' Renken cuddy cabin with a 2.5L OMC engine. The engine looks pretty beat (and weak), and maybe i'll get a summer's use out of it, but im looking to swap it out for a small, lightweight car engine that has the same power as a marine v8, but more effecient. I have a good bit of expertise in the automotive department, but these marine engines are a lot differnt on the outside. It appears that the exhaust manifold is water cooled or something. And the engine is only covered by, essentially, a wooden box. So i'm assuming it must run sorta cool. I'd like to either swap in a turbo 4-cylinder or a straight 6. I was worried that these engines, especially turbo'd ones, might be a fire hazard if they ran too hot. Also, has anything like this been done before? Marine engines are too expensive to buy and maintain lol.

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
Re: Engine swap issues?

Marine engines are no more expensive than auto engines. The only substantial differences are in the accessories.

Marine Carb,
Marine Alt
Marine Distr
Marine exhaust manifolds
Marine water pump.

All of these are necessary and legally required for safety.

When it comes to swapping to a different engine, you need to make sure that it mates to your outdrive and the outrive is both geared and strong enough to handle the new engine.

That all being said, if you do not start out with a complete marine engine setup, it will bankrupt you trying to provide all of the marine rated accessories. You need to stick with an engine type that has been marinized. There are many automotive engines that never had marine parts built for them.