First Boat : Starcraft Restoration - Mid 60's Unknown & Need Guidance

Hello all! First of all I just joined after cruising Craigslist in my area a few weeks ago and finding a boat I thought too cool to pick-up. I'm a regular mechanic by hobby and do quite a bit of vehicular builds for various racing types. I was spending on Sunday afternoon relaxing cruising Craigslist and came across an ad for a 1967 Starcraft boat for sale in my area. After contacting the owner as I found the boat to look very stylish and like a fun interesting project, mind you I have absolutely NO experience with boating at all, I ended up meeting and purchasing the boat. The owner who bought it from another guy around the corner a year or so ago said the boat has been sitting for the past few years and without any knowledge told me it was a '67 Starcraft that didn't run. He claims the motor is in good shape and he couldn't get it to start though he never really got around to it.

I've brought the boat back to my shop, most definitely NOT in the need for another project but hey I like to bring things back to life and give them another go-around before letting them rot in someone's yard. I've got the idea in which I'd like to do all the cosmetics and eventually pull this cool little boat behind my '66 Cadillac I've restored over the last couple years and continue to tinker on. Should make a fun weekend with the wife.

Anyways, here're a few questions I have for some of you more experienced guys: