1990 Mercury 115 head gasket question

narmer2000

Seaman Apprentice
How do you tell if your head gasket is blown without dismantling?

My 115 over heated and since then when you take out for 15-20 minutes the alarm goes off. New water pump installed and was peeing water. Picked up a miss as well. Is their an easy way to tell if this is the problem?

Dave1027

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1990 Mercury 115 head gasket question

Do a compression test.

These don't have a head gasket in the normal automotive sense because they don't have heads. Remember that this is a 2 stroke and they don't have valves hence no heads.

How do you know it overheated? Those alarms don't mean gospel. Most of the time they go off it's because of a malfunction in sensors or a module. Merc makes crappy electronics that seems designed to fail.

narmer2000

Seaman Apprentice

Im not a mechanic by any means. Thanks for the info. My friend has a compression tester so I will give that a shot tomorrow night. I took the boat out a couple weeks ago and idled out of the harbor into the channel. Soon as I did this the alarm went off and the motor starting running rough. Luckily I was able to idle back into the harbor and trailer it home. I am not sure about the water pumping. Replaced the water pump two weeks ago, tested and water was peeing out. When I had this problem no water was coming out the hose. When I got home I tried to flush as well but still no water coming out. Runs rough too so I am about ready to give up the ghost.

Dave1027

Lieutenant Junior Grade

So you replaced the water pump impeller after the overheat incident?

Do you have a temp gauge? If so what did it read?

So when it overheated you looked and no water was coming out pee hole?

How did you flush? Mine does not have a flush connection.

Was it a continuous tone alarm or a beeping?

narmer2000

Seaman Apprentice