1985 Mercury 50HP 2-Stroke 4-Cylinder

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
Time for me to holler for help!

Hi all, I’m installing a used Merc 50 onto my Starcraft Kingfisher. The KF thread is located here.

I have some experience with car engines but not really much with outboards so this is a learning experience for me.

Here are some pix of the engine in question.
10.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg

Serial Number 6589696. SN 6589696.jpg

Right now I’m in the process of bringing the motor back to life after it had been neglected by the previous owner(s) for a long, long time. And it’s been sitting unused at my place for 18 months too! I already read the sticky about reawakening a sleeping motor.

Compression is good and the motor does have spark.

I do have this Service Manual. It’s been helpful so far but doesn’t cover everything.
8.jpg

So far, I’ve removed the lower unit and replaced the complete water pump assembly. I’ve pressure and vacuum tested the LU and it passed with flying colors. Haven’t put it back on the motor yet because I’m waiting for my buddy to help me lift it into place.

Moved on to the carbs and got them removed, disassembled and cleaned up. They were a filthy mess! Today I picked up a couple of gasket sets and a pair of floats. One carb float had fuel in it and I decided to go ahead and get the second float for the other carb too since it was already apart. I’ll start carb reassembly soon. There is an issue with one of the carb float bowls and I'll bring that up a little later.

But at the moment I need help dealing with the throttle shifter assembly. As can be seen in the pix, the PO really did a number on the thing. However, I do have a second identical unit that I can use to get things working. I want to take two broken units and combine them to make one functional assembly for the KF.
5.jpg
6.jpg
9.jpg