1962 - 1970 Repair Tips Regarding Lower Unit Electric Type Shifting That Jumps/Slips Out Of Forward Gear On Select 40, V4 75, 80, 85, 90, 100 HP.

Status
Not open for further replies.
1962 - 1970 Repair Tips Regarding Lower Unit Electric Type Shifting That Jumps/Slips Out Of Forward Gear On Select 40, V4 75, 80, 85, 90, 100 HP.

Hi all,
1968 Evinrude Lark X 40hp
I have replaced wiring & switches and reconditioned all parts and connections except the bottom of the lower unit where the gears and magnet coils are. Symptoms: jumps out of forward sometimes. Sometimes it goes right back in gear and other times it takes a couple of tries to go in gear. Back and forth from neutral . I am not sure if the coil(which tests in working order every time I have checked it, dozen or more times) or the gear is failing. If it is the gear can the teeth be reground and if so how, or switched with the reverse gear since they are the same part. I am a very experience mechanic with only a little OB experience. Looking for advise on how to and any other feed back from those with experience in this problem

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Welcome to iboats
Is there any pattern as to when it jumps out of gear? Rough water? Upon acceleration?
The unit is very simple and reliable. Oil is critical for this gearcase/shift system. BRP Premium Blend is the correct oil for this unit. Anything else can cause issues. Premium Blend used to be marketed by OMC as Type C gear oil. There are some oils being marketed as Type C but are not compatible with the Electric Shift, so beware. The gears themselves wear very little if at all over the like of the engine, and while they are the same part for forward and reverse, they do use different bearings.