Help with stern light problem

greenbm

Seaman
This is my first time posting a question but I have been reading the boards a lot and have been help a lot by reading other peoples' posts. My stern light has not worked since I bought the boat last summer. I tried the obvious simple solution first and changed the bulb. No luck. So Tonight I tried to diagnose the problem and what I've found has left me confused. Here is what I did/found:

1. Put multimeter to the contacts in the bulb socket and got a 12V reading. BUT I noticed this was when my switch was in the off position. At least I think it's off. It's a rocker switch labled Nav/ANC and the middle position seems like it means off since neither of the lights on the switch come on when in this position. Am I correct in thinking this?

2 with the switch in bothe of the "on" positions I got no reading on the multimeter

3 when I put the test light on the negative battery terminal and touch EITHER of the contacts in the light post socket the test light cm on. When I reverse and clip the test light to positive it won't come on regardless of which contact I touch

I'm wondering if the problem is in the switch or maybe how the stern light is wired to the switch. I may be leaving out important information so if I am, please ask and I will try to answer. Thanks in advance for your help. Like I said, I've learned. Lot from you guys already.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: Help with stern light problem

The light is missing its ground or it has a highly resistive path to ground.

You can do a test with a test lead by connecting it to the negative side of the battery and the ground side of the light. Hopefully it has color coded wires going to it.

I also wouldn't be surprised if your stern light might illuminate slightly when you connect the test light between the negative terminal of the battery and the ground side of the light. it will be faint depending on how much current flows through your test light.

Welcome aboard!