597ci HD DI Combo

natedogg3991

Cadet
First I should point out I am a Newbie to this forum and owning my own boat. I have spent a lot of time looking around the forum and fond lots of great information.

Looking to buy a new GPS/Fish Finder combo. I would like something that has good maps in my area NW MN. All the ones I have looked seem to be pretty universal in taking the LakeMaster and Navionics cards. The one that I have been looking at closely is 597ci HD DI Combo, but is at the top of my price range. I know I can get similar with out the DI for about 100 dollars less. Not sure if the DI is worth the money or not, the videos online look great but not sure about function in real world. I do a bit of trolling, casting along the shore as well as parked pan fishing. I would like to stay in the 500 dollar range or less.

The 597ci HD DI Combo also list that it comes with Humminbird UniMap, not sure if this map is worth anything or what the coverage is like in my area.

Thanks for any help.

Charlie in TX

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 597ci HD DI Combo

Not sure about the maps. I think the DI would be useful in deep waters. Not so much otherwise.

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander

I have one of these units, it lasted about 9 hours. Humminbird has had a lot of problems with pins breaking in the transducer cables. And the only fix is to buy another $200 transducer. Maybe do a google search on this problem.
I have the navionics map and it worked great. But I would recommend something other than Humminbird until they fix this problem.
I will be "fixing" mine with tinfoil scraps as a new transducer/cable will most likely suffer the same fate.

Last edited:

natedogg3991

Cadet

I have one of these units, it lasted about 9 hours. Humminbird has had a lot of problems with pins breaking in the transducer cables. And the only fix is to buy another $200 transducer. Maybe do a google search on this problem.