89 Astro Quickfire 18FS w/150HP Mercury Black Max

Daniel1947

Petty Officer 1st Class
My first boat, purchased used in June, 2010; 1989 ASTRO QUICKFIRE 18FS with a Mercury 150HP Black Max. I had absolutely no knowledge of boats and large HP 2 cycle engines even though I have been a mechanic, drag racer, 4 cycle engine builder etc. for most of my life; also some minor fiberglass work on the race car.

The man I purchased the boat from was extremely friendly, said he purchased it new, it was “garage” kept, wanted to sell it because kids were grown and had other projects; we moved it out of his garage, he hooked up the water, showed me how to crank it etc. It started and ran great. I bought it, titled and licensed it and got it on the water in late July 2010. Enjoyed it immensely until late September when the engine locked up. Due to finances it took awhile to overhaul engine…#3 cylinder burnt a piston…I now know how a 2 cycle works and also how expensive it is to rebuild. Most of 2011 and 2012 were spent putting together funding and purchasing parts…$108 for one piston? :eek:OUCH! I bought a set of 8 for my 360 Dodge truck V8 for $120. Got engine finished and back on the water mid 2013, boat ran great.

July 2013, was on the water and started noticing driver’s seat was loose. While kneeling on the deck looking to see how it was attached, I put half of my 240 lbs. on one knee, through the deck into the foam. To conclude, upon closer examination I determined that the deck was rotten; upon closer examination I noticed the two bulkheads between the stringers were also rotten. Since I have been investigating and looking for info on I-Boats Forum, I was pretty sure I had major repairs to do. And as the following story unfolds, I will be asking for assistance from all you experts and non-experts alike.:D