1991 Searay 170 Stringer Floor Rebuild

jakehorton15

Seaman
This is my first post here on iboats and Ive been creeping around on here reading other threads for several months now. A brief history of the boat: My roommate owns a 91 17 foot Searay with a 3.0 Mercruiser alpha 1. When the boat was purchased the previous owners had NO idea what they were doing, the whole boat was rigged up and even had duck tape in some places. They left it outdoors with no cover for who knows how long. My roommate and I have used the boat for about 2 years since it was purchased and after inspection and observation it was obvious the floor couldnt handle another summer. Ive rebuild a fishing boat before from the stringers up so I felt more than capable to do the job.

Due to funds and time we've decided not to dig into the transom this year. If we decide to keep the boat a few more years that may be done in another off season but not this one.

The plan is to remove all the old carpet, deck, waterlogged foam and rotted stringers. Grind everything down smooth and clean, clean the inside of the hull with MEK. Reinstall dougfir stringers glasses with 1708 and US Composites polyester resin. Install BC grade 1/2 inch plywood deck with 1 layer of 1.5oz chop on the bottom and 2 layers on the top. Fill the boat with US Composites 2lb floatation foam. Then gelcoat the floor and insides and make nonskid using cabosil in the gelcoat.

There are many pro rebuilders on this forum ive noticed so feel free to call out any mistakes i may be making. Keep in mind we only plan on keeping the boat for another year or 2 hopefully before upgrading to something a little bigger, roomier, and powerful. Since im just a broke college kid im trying to keep the cost down without going too too cheap.

Excuse my lack of pictures of the foam removal, it was a pain in the butt and I was so worn out by the end of each day I didnt take pictures and didnt even think about doing a build thread at that point.