Question about part on my 6hp 1967 Johnson (CD-24S)

BillyB11

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all, I am currently restoring a 6hp Johnson and it is my first time working on an engine of any sort. I have a quick question about the function of a part and question as to whether it needs replacing. I have attached a picture for reference. The parts I am wondering about are the black rubberish roller that is connected to the throttle and the spring that connects it. In the picture I have uploaded, the spring is already removed, but I animated it in yellow. From what I can tell from researching, I believe this assembly might be the governor, but I am not confident in that. If anyone could give me some guidance on the purpose / function of this part I would really appreciate it. Furthermore, the rubber roller that i described has a bit of an indentation on one side that looks like wear from being pressed against the metal. Is this something i need to worry about?

I apologize in advance for butchered / incorrect terminology and unclear explanations.

Thanks!
Billy

Attachments

• photo280907.jpg
    photo280907.jpg
    138.6 KB · Views: 0

bspeth

Senior Chief Petty Officer