Old School Two Lever Controls

A Full Deck

Cadet
Hi,
I picked up this cool NOS Merc shifter for a Merc 850 project. Its built like a tank and smooth as silk. No instructions came with it of course. I'm an old school mechanic, but new to boating. I expected to find a neutral safety switch inside, but instead I find these two switches.

The harness has has a blue, green and red and then a separate shorter white wire, that I assume is ground. I've learned these are the same colors used on trim, but surely this switches do not have anything to do with trim. Can't find a manual or schematic anywhere.

Anybody know these two switches work together?

Attachments

• Shifter Switches.png
    Shifter Switches.png
    606.7 KB · Views: 15
  • shifter.jpg
    shifter.jpg
    263.4 KB · Views: 14

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
I only saw the red switch in your picture. It looks like a neutral safety switch.

The white wire on those old MerControls is often ign power. This is used for the choke solenoid. Ground is usually black. Starter solenoid is often yellow, choke is grey, ign killer for magnetos is orange or salmon.

The neutral safety switch is wired in series from the start terminal on the ign switch, then onto the starter solenoid.

The choke switch connects white wire to the grey wire.

A Full Deck

Cadet
Thanks Redneck Joe, but the harness coming off of the switches is red (maybe orange) and definitely green and blue? The white wire is separate. I'll get some better pics showing the wires and switches in each gear and post them soon. Thanks!

F_R

Supreme Mariner
?????Title says two lever control. But why am I seeing only one lever????? My guess is that the switches are for an OMC Electric Shift or Hydro Electric shift. But on a Merc Control????

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Start-in-neutral switch and shift interrupter switch??????

A Full Deck

Cadet