Just thinking out loud 383 stroker & an Alpha one

harleyman1975

Ensign
I have a 20 ft bow rider with a 305 that runs great. I know I should just be happy but I wonder if my Alpha 1 would stand up to a mild 383...or is it not possible to build a 383 that would be safe to run through an alpha drive. the boat will do mid 40's at 4800 rpm as is ( 2003 regal 2000 w/305 2 bbl 19 pitch 4 blade aluminum). I wish it had a little better hole shot and some more top end.

alldodge

Staff member
Don't see an issue so long as you ease into the throttle and not drop the hammer. Buddy has a 20 checkmate with 383 and extension box on an alpha drive. Been that way for years and no issues

jkust

Rear Admiral
I don't know what you consider a mild 383, but I would just expect that I would be spending some time off the water at some point fixing it. I am not a proponent for babying it because I didn't adequately address the build with the proper drive. If I'm spending the time on a 383, I'm not going to go mild, not going to baby it and not going to go Alpha 1. Sort all or nothing IMO.

alldodge

Staff member
Just to clarify, its a light boat, not a heavy one.
Were not talking baby were talking not dropping the hammer. I have 11000 lb boat with 530hp on a B3XR and I don't drop the hammer on it nor do I drop it on my 4800 lb boat with a 454 and B1.

harleyman1975

Ensign
Don't know much about the 305 as to what it is capable of. would simply putting a 4 barrel and intake do anything besides make it use more fuel? I know that the 305 does come as a 4bbl and a fuel injection engine. would I need to change the heads or are the stock (2003 factory) heads all the same? are these 305 "vortec" heads (lets just assume that they are original 2003 gm 305 heads). I know that there used to be 2bbl heads and 4 bbl heads with larger valves.

jkust

Rear Admiral
Just to clarify, its a light boat, not a heavy one.