Is it ever worthwhile, financially?

Luposian

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I can get one 25' cuddy cabin boat for $100 on Craigslist (Sierra Vista, AZ). No trailer. No engine. Solid hull (I'm told), but it's a wreck on the inside. Will need new cushions and possibly floor work, etc. Another 20' boat (fishing) is on Facebook for $500. Comes with trailer. Engine is a Straight 6 (is that an I/O, also?) but of unknown running condition. Unknown interior condition (no other pics available). Is it ever worth even CONSIDERING boats like these? Trailers are expensive, so getting one for the 25' boat is gonna probably run me over $500, as is! Plus my wife says you gotta insure and license them, to even pick up the boat or bring it home. I'm new to all this, so forgive my noviceness.

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
In 2009 I made the mistake of thinking that a 22' fixer-upper for $100 was going to be inexpensive to fix. From the outside I saw dirt and grime and some missing stuff but it otherwise seemed okay to my naive eyes. No motor included either. So I promptly bought a 2nd boat, a 15 footer, in similar shape with a 115 hp Mercury hanging on the back that I intended to swap onto the bigger boat.

Bad idea all around! BOTH boats had rotted transoms and stringers which would have cost many thousands to repair and refurbish. Fortunately, I learned a lot from the smart folks here on iboats and was able abandon the restorations and to sell the boats and that motor without losing money. Got lucky, I did!

More recently we acquired a Starcraft aluminum boat (the link in my signature) for a good price and I just finished an inexpensive refurbishment. I'd learned a lot from my prior adventure with the prior boats. I kept it simple this time and am now money ahead. That's a rarity though! From what I've read, most guys are "upside down" on the value of their fixups/resorations compared to true market value.

As always, YMMV. :joyous:

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner