How to actually BOOK a flight online?

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
I've been using Expedia since its inception (20+ years) and other booking sites as well. But over the last several days, we've been trying to book a flight to the Philippines and nothing is going through. Frustrating! :cautious:

We've used Expedia, Kayak, Orbitz, Hot Wire and numerous others without success. We find a trip that meets our criteria, go through the whole process, get to the payment section and then suddenly get a message that the fare isn't available and the price jumps up $3,000. Or the itinerary is no longer available at all. Argh!

My wife and the boy are going back to visit family, but getting them booked has been impossible. We've both been hitting it very hard for 3 solid days now, plus intermittently for a few weeks while waiting for my wife's sister to get back home too. (She arrived a couple days ago.)

We spoke with a Priceline rep who had the exact same problems. It's like the advertised fares aren't real, but just click-bait to get you to a scam payment company. It wasn't like this before.

It's stopped being annoying and is becoming downright discouraging. Any ideas?

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
What happens when you go straight to the Airline?
The price goes way up. Double, triple or more in a lot of cases. The minimum increase that we've seen is 50% or so.

The last time I booked flights online was over 10 years ago, when I brought my wife and the boy here. It was very straightforward then. Find a flight that fit, book, pay and get boarding info. Simple.

Nowadays, it's like the airlines don't want to bother with bookings, so they shunted it off to the booking companies, who then shunted the payment sections to other companies, many of which are shady.

I got up at 0730 this morning and started hitting it right away. United Airlines finally showed a good fare, I clicked on the link and after it loaded, the price came up 30% higher.

It's very frustrating. :cautious:

dingbat