Bought my first boat to tinker on. Looking for advice

TripleJGraffis

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello, I recently purchased a 1989 Maxum 1700XR. So here's the backstory. First off, I have been searching for a decent project boat for quite some time. I realize I will possibly put more money into it than what it is worth, but for me, if I can learn something new, then the new knowledge and experience in boats will be priceless compared to the amount of money I put into it. I have little to no knowledge of boats, but have been wanting to learn with a project boat for years. I was not really expecting to purchase a boat, but this one stood out when I hopped on Facebook Marketplace. It was posted for 500.00, which was a red flag for me, until I saw that it had just been reduced to 500.00 from 2000.00. I reached out and asked what was wrong with it....Why such a huge reduction in price? He explained that he had already done his own work on it and as of this past summer, he had it out on the water with his family. He explained that the motor was giving him some issues, and being an engine mechanic, he proceeded to completely dismantle the engine to find the problem. Turns out the pistons were bad and the block needs to be bored out. He originally had it posted running at 2000.00, but then nobody was biting at that price tag. He and his wife took on other priorities in life and ultimately agreed to take the loss and post it at 500.00 just so he could get it out of his yard. I asked if anything else is wrong with it, and he stated that aside from the engine needing a good cleaning, and to be bored out and get new pistons and rings, everything else is cosmetic. He did not keep it covered up and it has since snowed and a lot of debris has made its way inside. I did get to climb inside of it this month and shovel the snow out and get a better look a things. The whole boat needs a good power wash and is very sun damaged.... Eventually I will go at it with a buffer and give it a g