1967 Johnson 6hp CD-24S Spark Plugs

BillyB11

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,

I am new to engine work but I decided to restore a 6hp Johnson '67 that has been sitting in my Grandpa's shed for some years. I am about to order new plugs but have a quick question. Currently, the outboard has Champion J8C plugs in it. According to another website, I should be using Champion J4C plugs. According to the Seloc manual I bought, I need Champion J6J plugs. I have a suspicion the J8C's that are currently on it are not correct (too hot from what I have read), but I am not sure how to reconcile the J6J vs J4C recommendations. Furthermore, in the manual (Seloc) that I bought, it says "Most spark plugs to not come gapped to the proper specification". Is this true, if so, what tools/gauges must I have to gap them myself?

Thanks!
Billy

Last edited by a moderator:

F_R

Supreme Mariner
According to the parts book or your motor, you are supposed to use Champion J4J or Auto Lite A21X or AC M42K. The J4J is no longer made, and J4C is the accepted new number. Since J4C are a little bit hard to find, a lot of people say J6C is OK. J8C is stretching it a bit.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
With a working thermostat the plug to use is a J4C.-----Have you inspected the coils ?---Tested to see if spark will jump a gap of 5/16"

BillyB11

Seaman Apprentice
racerone, what confuses me about your response is this: I assumed (maybe wrongly) that there is a certain spec. plug I need regardless of the thermostat, coils, or other stuff. I would have guessed, that this motor has a plug that is correct, and if there is a problem with something like the thermostat or coils I just need to fix/replace those independently. If I am interpreting your response correctly, it would lead me to believe that the working order of the coils and/or thermostat have some bearing on which plug I need.

Thanks for the responses

racerone

Supreme Mariner