1960-something fiberglass Starcraft

capitolcity

Recruit
Recently purchased this 60's Fiberglass Starcraft on Facebook Marketplace. I have zero boat knowledge and this is my first boat purchase ever. The ultimate goal is a nice weekend lake cruiser.
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.17.51 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.20.09 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.18.06 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.19.40 AM.png
The cool 1963 Mercury "Merc 350" engine

Last registered in 1991, this boat has been in storage for over 3 decades. At least that is what the previous owner told me, but the actively wet mulch like transom and stringers might tell a different story...
What stood out to me was the relatively complete state of the boat. It has complete running gear, a 60's Mercury gas tank and half way decent interior. Upon inspection it was pretty clear that the transom was blown out and the motor was sagging. The floor was also quite soft. Typically in Wisconsin these boats have been gutted and left in a farm field as a rotting shell, so I suppose this is a decent start.
For the two hour trip home we decided to remove the motor and place it inside the boat. The amount of flex in the transom was concerning to the point where I was worried the fiberglass could give out and leave the motor on the road. The drive home I had zero issues otherwise.

First order of business was starting to pull up the floor to get an idea of what was going on- of course I already knew that the stringers would be gone.
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.34.25 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 1.34.09 AM.png
The stringers are indeed mush.