Humility

Water logged

Petty Officer 1st Class
My question is, where was the picture taken from that apparently shows the Milky Way galaxy in the background?

garbageguy

Lieutenant Commander
Just look out the window of an airplane over the south-west on a clear day, and go from there. We are tiny specs, but we live in our own little heads (and think about our tiny efforts on our tiny boats). Interesting (maddening?) to think about - fun dockside topic. Can't wait to get to the boat...

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
Check out the James Webb launched in December. Replacing the Hubble .
Yup, that's where the first image (on the left) in the pic above came from.

I was a NASA Space Systems engineer for 20+ years. A friend of mine was a manager on the Hubble Project. I also worked in DoD and commercial programs and flew satellites while in the USAF.

I never tire of space stuff. There was a launch from Cape Canaveral less than an hour ago this morning, which would have been visible from my front porch, but I slept through it. :rolleyes:
1.jpg

My favorite space job was as a Senior Mission Controller on the Galileo Deep Space Probe. I would have done that job for free, had I been able. https://www.jpl.nasa.gov/missions/galileo

Looking at things from that larger, universal view, really makes human pettiness seem ridiculous by comparison. 😏

MRS

Commander

I was a NASA Space Systems engineer for 20+ years. A friend of mine was a manager on the Hubble Project. I also worked in DoD and commercial programs and flew satellites while in the USAF.

I never tire of space stuff. There was a launch from Cape Canaveral less than an hour ago this morning, which would have been visible from my front porch, but I slept through it. :rolleyes:
View attachment 367249

My favorite space job was as a Senior Mission Controller on the Galileo Deep Space Probe. I would have done that job for free, had I been able. https://www.jpl.nasa.gov/missions/galileo