NGK vs Champion plugs/ hard to start fixed

SparkieBoat

Captain
Re: NGK vs Champion plugs/ hard to start fixed

i may just do that..i should have asked you guys before buying the NGKs. I heard they are a hotter plug, is that why you would have to rejet the carbs?? maybe larger jets?? I really appreciate all of the help I have recieved in this forum, it has been invaluable.

bktheking

Vice Admiral

I worked in the auto industry for many years, all vendors be it Champion or NGK or Autolite all sell equivalent plugs. Let's face it, a spark plug is a spark plug. As long as the reach is the same and the plug temp is the same they will all work. These big manufacturers get in bed with a company like Champion who give them the best price for plugs on their new motors swear in the manual that you have to use them. IMO that's BS and marketing, I've ran all different plugs in all different motors and not had one blow up, that's why they sell equivalent plugs, if they didn't work there would be class action lawsuits being filed everyday against the plug manufacturers with claims that their plugs were blowing motors up. You can get the same heat range and reach plug in NGK for your boat and not have to touch a thing, rejetting included. (I didn't know boats were rejetted for plugs, though that was more of a fart can/air filter change on a motorcycle engine type of deal, maybe a racing outboard if you make a pile of changed)

That's like saying you can't run NGK's in your ford mustang, you have to run Motorcraft or AC delco in your GM truck.

Now if you want to get into platinum and iridium or copper core plugs, surface and non surface gap, that is a whole other discussion.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner