Which gasket is better for impeller install, metal or fiber?

Drcoffee

Petty Officer 1st Class
boat is a ‘95 Rinker 212 with 5.7L alpha one gen two
I have searched here and google for information on which kit is better, the fiber lower gasket or the steel plate lower gasket, In fact I bought both kits to see the difference. Sounds like there may have been issues with the fiber gasket blowing out. does using a sealant stop the gasket from shifting?
with the steel gasket, do you use silicone or just bare? I have never seen a steel gasket when the torque spec is so low, 60 Lb in. Thats roughly 5#s.

do you use loctite on the impeller pump housing bolts or anti seize? Does the steel gasket work better?

Rick Stephens

Admiral
Sillycone is useless. There is no Sillycone in the Merc manuals. WHichever you use, follow the service manual recommendation as to what sealers to use or not use.

Drcoffee

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi Rick
Thanks for your input. Im new at boating, kind of. I have had 3 boats before 15 yrs ago and sold them at the end of each season. So Boating I know. Maintenace I am new to. Dont take offense but you seem to be an old grizzled boater irritated by new boaters and our stupid questions. Way way back when, you were in my shoes you probably had questions too.
I just bought my boat 4 weeks ago and have not bought a service manual yet so I am relying on the kindness of others to help get up to speed. I do all my own car maintenance and consider myself mechanically inclined.
From the few pages of the service manual have found, Mercruiser lists their part numbers which can sometimes be impossible to find online because they have superseded numbers.
I found gray gasket maker for water pumps from permatex but the nore I search Permatex has aviation gasket sealer/compound. Would that be a good substitute for quicksilver gasket compound?