Water on top of pistons and rockers

jeremiah89

Cadet
I have a 1991 Renken Seamaster 2688 with a OMC 350. My motor hydrolocks only while in water. It doesn't do it on muffs. I am getting water on both sides of the motor when i pull the plugs snd spin it over. The rocker box on both sides are milky but the oil in the pan is clean. It may be do it 10 minutes on the lake or 3 hrs just depends. The most recent time i was idling and the boat started missing bad until it stalled. I pulled all the plugs and water was on both sides. I took it to a buddy he thinks head gaskets, the motor hasn't been overheated since I've had it the motor has 82hrs on it. I'm not sure if it's risers/manifolds, head gaskets, cracked heads. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
Are the exhaust flappers intact and installed correctly?
Do you see any leaks around the joint between the exhaust elbow and the exhaust manifold?
does this boat sit very low in the stern? You need 13-14" between the static water line and the tops of the exhaust elbows to prevent water from spilling over into the cylinders.
A blown HG can let water in but usually it won't be all the cyls, maybe one on one side, depending on where its blown. I had this on mine 3 years after an overheat.
I might pull the boat out, remove the exhaust manifold/elbow as a unit and test them. Prop it up level hook up a water hose to the inlet and run water through it for a while then shut it off, see if any water drips down to the exhaust ports that mate up with the cyl head exhaust ports.