Tried the search...No luck...How to winterize Yamaha 4 stroke water vehicles?

Ga Farmer

Cadet
This is my first year as a proud owner of two Yamaha boats. This site was highly reccomended for the knowledge here. I have an 07 VX 110 and an 06 FX140. Of course bought used...I can't afford new.... Could some of the experts here help out a newby by telling him how to get his water scooters ready for the winter and trouble free next summer? I can't afford to pay someone else to do it. I am a lifelong mechanic , but I dont know anything about these wave runners.
Thanks for your help! In advance!!

Wendell

lexer440

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Tried the search...No luck...How to winterize Yamaha 4 stroke water vehicles?

search.ebscohost.com

username = marshall
password = public

Look under small engine repair/watercraft

Ernest T

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Tried the search...No luck...How to winterize Yamaha 4 stroke water vehicles?

1. Flush: Flush thoroughly with fresh water. I run Salt-Away through the system if they have been used in salt and rinse the engine with it. They sell a kit that hooks up to the hose to put it into the system.
2. Change the Oil: Once the engine is hot from the flush change the oil and filter. You want to do this as part of the winterization process. You will need an oil extractor. You should be able to extract around 2.5 quarts on both skis. Put back exactly what you took out assuming the oil level was correct to begin with. The oil level should only be checked when the engine is at operating temperature on both of your skis (dry sump oil systems), and never check the level with the engine cold. Yamalube 10W-40 is best oil. Amsoil Marine 10W-40 is good synthetic choice. Yamaha filter #5GH-13440-00-00 or 5GH-13440-20-00 will work on either ski. Or you can use a K&N 303 on either.