Pro or amatuer hull repair?

dpar

Cadet
Real newbie here, first boat. Missed out on one I was coming back to compression test and this 1995 FourWinns 5.0 Volvo Penta w SX outdrive and 196 total hrs came up. Everything works. Lake tested, all good, so pulled it out to really go over and seller said his son just called and had another buyer.He had agreed to sell to me today. I bought it without a survey, probably dumb move. Any I came across this (see picture) and Im not sure whats going on, anyone know care to hazard a guess?
20201005_154538.jpg
:welcome: to iBoats . . .

What are we looking at :noidea: Where is it on the hull?
Still not a very good pic, I was laying on ground under boat 4ft from transom.

Attachments

• 20201005_154538.jpg
    20201005_154538.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 6

tpenfield

Staff member
First off . . . will there be a prize for the 'winner' who correctly guesses what this is??? :unsure::D

Assuming that there is . . . my guess is that a PO was going to install a thru-hull sender/transponder (like a depth sender). . . started drilling with a hole saw, then decided not to go through with it. Then did a half-butted job of covering the 'in-progress' hole. Also thinking there may be a pilot hole that got covered up in addition to the partial hole that is showing.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
my first thought is the original in-dash depth finder was a 2" thru-hull fitting and they removed it.

Baylinerchuck

Commander
If you turn the picture sideways it almost looks like a booger on a bed post......then again, I’m not too good at this game.:oops:

dpar

Cadet
First off . . . will there be a prize for the 'winner' who correctly guesses what this is??? :unsure::D