New Boater with Johnson 130 questions

ITBeachbum

Cadet
Hello,
I'm new to boating and have a few questions regarding the operations of 1999 21' Seaswirl Striper with 1999 Johnson 130 HP.

The water pump needed replacing b/c it's was not pissing a very well and running on the hot side. No alarms... just hot to the touch about 125-130 degrees. Anyway I replaced the pump with a new Johnson pump kit. She pissing better but still hot.. again, no alarms. Is this a normal range?

When I connect the rabbit ears to the flush the engine, water runs from the top of the bottom gear case where it is bolted to the engine, as well as water from the exhaust, and eventually from the **** hole. This is the first time I'm flushing this unit and I'm not sure if this normal. Is this because I'm forcing water up through the pump and the engine can't keep up the supply, or signs of something wrong?

Ok last question for today... the top end RPM for this Johson 130 is about 4200. Even after playing with the trim. What would be the max RPM on johnson 130 Hp pushing a 21' WA. The Tech goes up to something like 8000, so there is the for growth.

Any help of these questions and I'll be greatful..

James

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: New Boater with Johnson 130 questions

1. That is the normal operating temp for that outboard. Be sure to test your overheat alarm to ensure it is functioning none the less though. As long as you can hold your hand on the block for a 1, 2, 3 count, or splash water on the head without it sizzling, it is usually ok. Although, an infrared thermometer is a more accurate test, as it sounds like you are doing.

2. Normal