Need Help/Advlce about battery setup on twin crusier

Duke_

Cadet
Ok, ill try and keep this short and simple, its a rather complicated setup i have no experience with, i have a few ideas on how to better it but i would like to hear from people what the proper way to go about setting this up.

I have a Silverton with twin 220's, right now there is 2 batteries, PORT motor has ON/OFF switch for battery and is charging the PORT battery, STARBOARD motor has ON/OFF switch for battery and is charging the STARBOARD battery, the boats house accessories are split between both batteries and wired into the ON OFF switches (Fridge, and water pump on PORT battery, and lights,radio, etc on STARBOARD battery). Now where i get lost is both batteries are wired + to + and - to -(in parralel i believe its called), so i think theres really no isolation between batteries. what i found last year.. this would leave me stranded after a day on the lake(not good). I want to fix this up right before i drop the ship in the water this year, what are my options and how should i go about fixing this, i had thought about a switch to a 3 battery setup and have 1 starting battery for both motors and run a bank of 2 house batteries for everything else.. im just not sure how to get there from where i am now. If anyone has some advice or can explain why the previous owner set this up in this fashion?. Can i get away with a single battery to start twin engines reliably?

Thanks

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Need Help/Advlce about battery setup on twin crusier

Twins can be a challange to get wired so they are easy to understand and use.

I would suggest you have a starting battery for each engine, a two battery bank for house, and two Bluesea add-a-battery ACR setups.
Basically a battery switch for each engine, both charging the house batteries while keeping the individual starting batteries isolated from the house and from the other engine.

Duke_

Cadet