Low RPM at WOT

wormboy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
1989 150 Evinrude; the manual says that the WOT rpm should be ~5k, but I am topping out at 4k; i.e., the throttle is all the way to the console. I'm a complete novice with this type of thing-- could it be that the throttle linkage needs to be adjusted to allow for more room at the top, or could this be something more complicated like a synchronization or timing issue?

The engine is on a 18.5' cc, and the top speed reads ~46 on my fish finder-- it's quite a bit of engine for this boat, so I don't really need more speed--- just want to make sure things are as should be.
Thanks......

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Low RPM at WOT

Probably not a throttle or cable issue. But check it anyway. Move the trottle lever full forward. Then check the port side end of the throttle shaft on the carb. The roll pin in the end of each shaft should be perfectly vertical. If not, the throttle is not opening fully. Put the lever in neutral and disconnect the throttle cable. Hold the throttle linkage on the engine against the idle stop and then bring the cable back up to the linkage. If the attachment points do not line up exactly, adjust the trunion (threaded barrel on the cable) until it does line up. Reattach the cable and check full throttle again. If the roll pin is still not vertical, you need to do a link and sync. DO NOT try to adjust for this with the cable. Thats not how its done. If the carbs are opening fully, then you may be severely over propped or its down on compression and hence, power. That engine should spin up to 5500 RPM.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

One more thing -- 46 MPH at 4000 RPM says you better check the tach as that may be giving you an erroneous reading.

wormboy

Petty Officer 3rd Class