high density poly repair

dellaperu

Recruit
Hi All,<br />Nice place you have here. This is my first post so I apologize if it's in the wrong forum. I ran a search and came up blank. I have a small Basstender 10.2 for freshwater pond hopping thats developed some deep scratches that are now leaking. Ive tried various patches but nothing seems to bond to the plastic or last very long. Looking for instruction/materials for long term repair. Any help is greatly appreciated.<br /><br />Thanks

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: high density poly repair

i think it is dupont 882. it's in the shop will check in the morning. is this boat similar to the 10'2 bass hound? if so i just repaired 1 with a hole in. jus did some research and they are . see you in the am.

dellaperu

Recruit

Thanks for the reply sir! Yes it looks almost identical to the Bass Hound 10.2 and according to the owners manual, the same HD Poly material (dupont 882?). I'm new to plastics, any advice how to repair it would be great. thanks again

tashasdaddy

dellaperu, dupont 832 is the right compound. it is gray and cannot be tinted. the hull of your boat is a polly carbonate. the same thing the plastic lid of a coffee can. if you have a hole cut a patch a little larger the the hole. apply dupont 832 to hull push patch on and hold for a few minutes. will take several days to set up. this is what bass hound told me to do and dupont. i had to special order 832.

imported_bjs

Petty Officer 1st Class

duramix or expoy shoukd work maybe talk to someone who works in a body shop they deal with a lot of plastic parts if they work on new cars.cause thats all there made of is plastic like your boat

tashasdaddy

it's a different material than the auto parts. i gave you the recommended way that i got from the mfg.

dellaperu

Recruit