help with 4" hole

proshine43

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello, its been awhile since i've been on here. Its been even longer since ive been able to work on the boat, the warden (wife) gave me the ok so im at it again. Anyways i need to fill in this 4" hole on the top of the cap. It used to be a vent leading to the drivers feet (?) (Previous owner) whats the best way to do it. I have access to both sides. Thanks for your input.

Ciera2450

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: help with 4" hole

I repaired some small holes (2" or so..) using short strand filler. Clamped packing tape covered plywood to the underside and filled from the top...sanded smooth...packing tape allows removal of plywood from bottom. I'm not an expert by any means, but this worked for me!..

Cadwelder

Lieutenant Commander

Most likely can be repaired only from the top, since doesn't sound strucural, but a picture would help. Need to see, just what we are dealing with. (odd shapes, color matching, thickness, etc.)

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Welcome Back!!

Since you Said you had access to front and back, I'd sand the back with some 60 grit and lay a couple a layers of 1.5 oz mat soaked in resin over the hole and hold em in place with some taped on cardboard and plastic. 30 mins later from the topside, I'd mix up some resin with some cabosil and chopped fibers and fill the hole. 30 mins later I'd sand it smooth then fill and fair and paint or gelcoat. Since it's above the waterline I suppose you could use bondo hair on it but I'll probably get in trouble for saying that.:p Lot's of examples here on the forum or google it up. As stated before Pics would really help!!!!

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Yes yes..as Cadwelder said..Whats the thickness ? is there core or just thin fiberglass.

Need more input as Johnny 5 would say ( hmm..can I change my name to Johnny 5 ? ;) ) Need Input .. More input..

YD.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

My original post methods would work just fine IMHO:D

Yacht Dr.