Help! Marine Plywood For Stringers!!!

AJSVFORCE

Seaman Apprentice
I Am Trying To Find Marine Plywood Long Enough To Replace My Stringers That Run The Length Of The Boat And Cant Find Any Plywood 15' Long! Do I Have To Splice The Eight Footers?
Please Help!!!

jonesg

Admiral
Re: Help! Marine Plywood For Stringers!!!

yes, long scarf joints work well.

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Hello Force..

pics are kinda needed in this application.. are you scabbing ?.. or bulkhead to trans ?

YD.

AJSVFORCE

Seaman Apprentice

These are the stringers that run from stern to bow.I am new at rebuilding boats and woodworking.

Attachments

• 100_1541.jpg
    100_1541.jpg
    82.2 KB · Views: 2

PiratePast40

Lieutenant Commander

Butt joints are just fine with plywood. Keep your joints as far apart as possible. After all, you're just making more ply's. I used resin and mat to bond mine but some say the mat isn't necessary. I used screws to hold them together and let it set up for a day. Then removed the screws finished up ripping to the exact width and length. Then went back and filled the screw holes in with resin.

88BLiner

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Yes you will need to join two 8' pieces. I would suggest the method that PiratePast40 described above.

jonesg

Admiral

butt joint is no good for this, you're using the wrong terminology.
I think you meant lap.
the only butt joint with any strength is a scarf, the longer the better.

PiratePast40

Lieutenant Commander

butt joint is no good for this, you're using the wrong terminology.
I think you meant lap.
the only butt joint with any strength is a scarf, the longer the better.