headgasket/exhaust cover tq and pattern on a 98 120hp force

IMPATIENT 1

Seaman Apprentice
yeah, i know, another dang newbie asking about headgaskets:D sorry guys, but i really searched the site high and low but kept finding conflicting posts from members who appear to know there stuff, so i wanted to make 100% certain this thing goes together right, we're ready to fish;)
here's what i found for the headgasket:

start with the center two bolts # 1&2 then just below # 3&4 then just above # 5&6 and so on until you reach the end of the head your torque is 120 in lbs + 90 degrees

is that correct? i'm a gm tech, and have a electronic angle meter, very familiar with torque to yield bolts, i just wanna make sure before i pulled threads outta the block:eek:

anyone know the torque on the exhaust cover on the 98 120hp force? my plate cracked , i've got the replacement in , ready to get r done:D

thanx guys, again sorry for yet another headgasket thread:rolleyes::D

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: headgasket/exhaust cover tq and pattern on a 98 120hp force

head bolt pattern is correct, use 225 INCH pounds in at least two steps.

Exhaust cover will use a similar pattern to avoid warping. If the bolts are 1/4-20, use 70 INCH pounds. If 5/16-18, use 160 INCH pounds. These are standard torque values.

IMPATIENT 1

Seaman Apprentice
Re: headgasket/exhaust cover tq and pattern on a 98 120hp force

head bolt pattern is correct, use 225 INCH pounds in at least two steps.

Exhaust cover will use a similar pattern to avoid warping. If the bolts are 1/4-20, use 70 INCH pounds. If 5/16-18, use 160 INCH pounds. These are standard torque values.