First time boat owner

gilligan60

Cadet
I have never owned a boat before besides a little 12 footer with a 6 hp motor 20 years ago, but I am in now the process of buying a 1994 Lund Pro DLX 1700 with a 90hp mercury motor. I am buying this from a female I know who is selling the boat after receiving it as part of a divorce settlement. The boat is in immaculate shape and I am getting a hell of a deal on it.

The problem I have is I know absolutely NOTHING about boats and motors this size. Unfortunately, neither does the female (or her boyfriend) that is selling it to me. So I have a couple questions that are pretty basic.

First of all, when I go pick up this boat (friday), I realize that the motor should be in the "up" position when I am towing it. This boat has a power trim and tilt, which I've never used before. Is there anything I need to know before I take off with this thing friday? Is there a mechanism that locks it in place in the up position, or does the power tilt just hold it in place?

Also, this one may seem really dumb, but what kind of oil do I use with the thing. She opened a little compartment on top of the motor and said that was where the oil went. That;s about as much as she knew about it. I didn't look at it very close, and she had no idea what kind of oil it took. How much oil do they burn? I'm used to mixing my oil and gas, so I have no idea how much oil it is expected to go through. Is it like a car, or will I be adding oil much more frequently?

There is also a livewell and some other buttons on the console that I will have to figure out, so I may be back for more help. Thanks much.

013-1.jpg

5150abf

Vice Admiral
Re: First time boat owner

Looks like it has the receiver for a transom saver, its a forked aluminum stick that takes the weight of the motor off the transom, you hsoul dget another one of those if you can't find the one that is on it.

Yes the tilt trim will hold the motor up but it is hard on the transom, see above for fix.