Explain trim tabs to me.

megaxyu

Recruit
Hi all,

I am new to boating and looking at getting a 12' Saturn SD365 with a 15hp engine. I understand that it will be difficult for the boat to get on plane when it is loaded.

I am thinking about making my own trim tabs but don't quite understand how they work. From what I gather one would generally want them to be at a slight down angle when getting on plane and then raise them up ones the boat is on plane. Is this the reason to use an actuator? Will the pressure on the trim tabs once the boat is on plane cause them to move up?
Is there a set angle that these should be set at when getting on plane? Will the angle matter afterwards?

Any input is appreciated

Cheers,

Mike

likalar

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Explain trim tabs to me.

Normally tabs or foils are installed after a true need is realized. I would do some trials with the stock set-up. Try different positions for the load (fuel tank, people, etc.). Also, try different trim positions for the engine. If you decide you need tabs (or a foil), it seems you have a good understanding of them. Yes, the pressure should cause the tabs to move up automatically, but from what I've been reading, results often vary. I have an 11' Rib with a 20hp, and no extra hardware was needed. Conversely, our 14' tinny with a 20hp benefited greatly from a foil (just me and the dog; with too much weight in the stern). I had looked into tabs, but decided on a small Doel-fin, which did the trick. I wish I could advise you better about tabs. Somebody will chime in. I just watched a You-Tube video; nice looking boat! Good luck.
Larry

Lyle29464

Lieutenant

The tilt setting on your engine will do all you will need.

nobrainsd

Petty Officer 1st Class