Bringing 85hp Force back to life?

FreeBayliner4Us

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am soon to take posesion of a early-mid 90's Bayliner Capri with a 85hp force outboard. I have never worked on outboards before however I am very mechanically inclined. I do alot of automotive engine and electrical work so instead of giving a marina all of my money I have decided to take it on myself!

The boat was winterized in the fall of 04 and hasn't been touched since. It was in perfect running order when stored for the winter. Come spring time a new bigger boat was purchased and my boat was all but forgoten about.

So I mentioned to the cousin in question my possible interest in it and low and behold it is mine. Now I just have to pull it out of the field it has been in for 4yrs.

I don't wasnt to screw anything up so how should I revive this beast? What steps should be taken to get it running?

I am guessing the following:

1. New battery (duh!)
2. Change all fluids
3. Clean carb? How I don't know.
4. Clean fuel tanks? Again how I don't know.
5. Replace impeller. Thanks to lead thread in this section, I do know how!

Thanks for any advice!

Mike M.
Richmond VA.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Bringing 85hp Force back to life?

Engine FAQs, "Awakening a sleeping outboard".

Get a factory manual before you work on it.

maxum247

Lieutenant

Pull the spark plugs and put some outboard motor oil in each cylinder to oil up the cylinders don't want to turn the engine over dry!
Remove the propeller before doing any type of cranking test such as compression and spark checks don't want to get tangled up in the propeller.
I have a 89 125 Force that set for a dozen years and it runs strong and has good compression.

steve spears

Recruit

First thing, run a compression test! You and your new boat may part company immediately! Should your compression be to your liking, go purchase a Force manual! Don't guess. Good luck (and may the Force be with you!!)

FreeBayliner4Us